When it was 30 mins to landing, I opened the shade of my window.  We were somewhere above Hokkaido and I saw powder sugar dusted field.  I was back in Japan in exactly two years…

Despite the blue sky in the air, it was lightly drizzling in Tokyo.  But that didn’t matter at all.  As soon as I arrived at my hotel in Shibuya, I had a key to a corner room (due to overbooking, hotel upgraded my room), and after 15 mins of “Lost in Translation” moment of admiring view outside the window, we were ready for shopping!

Day 2 started with a quick run to a store of my kind called Cookcoop – a tiny cookbook store tucked in a back alley of Shibuya, and a hearty bowl of ramen noodle.  From the facade, it almost looks like a cute cafe.  However, inside is clean yet extremely humble that offers two different kinds of homemade noodle, one with a thickness of spaghetti and the other reminding me of parpardelle.  I ordered miso tsukemen (noodle and broth are served separately) topped with crunchy sauteed vegetable, which had a hint of spiciness.  At first I was overwhelmed by the mound of food, but finishing up was not so problematic.  In order to help digesting, we continued with our shopping spree and a trip to Ueno…

Cookcoop: 1-11-1 Shibuya, Shibuya-ku

Chuka-soba Suzuran (中華そば すずらん): 33-7-5 Shibuya, Shibuya-ku