Since receiving a wedding invitation last September, I knew where I was going for my summer vacation. Wedding was in Rome, but my boyfriend suggested we should watch Aida at Arena di Verona and spend relaxing time in Amalfi. Who can say no to that?

amalfi2

But to reach the relaxing point of my journey, I had to persevere 20 hour travel time (my flight from JFK was delayed 6 hours; hence, missed my connection flight in London) and a rained out opera (20 mins into the second act, it started to pour down and the show was over!). Felt defeated and exhausted, but when I walked outside my hotel room and faced with the view of Amalfi, I knew I was “in-the-money!”

amalfi 1

Took a long bath and I tucked myself comfortably in bed for a much needed nap. Evening came, so we strolled down to the main piazza, snooped around a little and sat down at the table of a restaurant called “Taverna degli Apostoli”. As soon as Luigi, our charming waiter, brought us the menu, we knew we were in good hands. The handwritten menu was full of mouthwatering Mediterranean dishes with a sketch of Amalfi coast adorning the cover! So casual and welcoming… We ordered a bottle of white wine and started with tomato bruschetta and house salad. They were delicious and didn’t need much seasoning or dressing, since the produces were so tasty! For the main course, I ordered baked sea bass with lemon and my boyfriend had homemade fennel sausage with melted cheese. Both were done in a rustic manner yet delectable. At the end of the meal, we were stuffed, so we sipped on a glass of limoncello to punctuate the deal in Amalfi style.