turkey larb1

What a gloomy Tuesday!

My boyfriend has moved to Lima on a 6AM flight and ever since it’s been raining (on and off) with uncomfortable amount of heat and humidity.  I desperately needed a “pick-me-up” dish to brighten up my “dinner-table-for-one”!

While flipping through “Donna Hay” (issue 43), saw a recipe for “veal larb”  and the thought of having this tangy, sweet and savory dish with a bowl of creamy coconut rice made me salivate.  I quickly ran over to a nearby Asian specialty store to pick up some of ingredients, and since I had ground turkey in my freezer, decided to use it instead of veal.  To the simple recipe from “Donna Hay”, I’ve added additional ingredients (minced lemongrass and sweet basil) to enhance the flavor.   Also, I’ve substituted cilantro with mint, since I just can’t bear the taste/smell of cilantro!

While working on the Larb, I’ve also prepared coconut rice (with a help from my trusted rice cooker) and sprinkled slivered almond on the top for some crunch.

The result was quite wonderful.  Dinner-for-one can never be the most exciting thing, but the turkey larb definitely proved to be a better option than a take-out dinner in a plastic container.

::Ingredients::

1/4 lb of ground turkey

1 shallot (halved and sliced)

1 teaspoon of minced lemongrass*

1 tablespoon of chopped thai basil

1 table spoon of chopped mint

1 teaspoon of minced ginger

1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic

1/2 of serrano chili (chopped into small pieces)

Juice of 1/2 of lime

1 teaspoon of sugar

1 teaspoon of fish sauce

1 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of black pepper

1/2 tablespoon of any type of vegetable oil

::Recipe::

  1. Mix lime juice, serrano chili, fish sauce, chopped mint and sugar in a non-metallic bowl and set it aside
  2. Cook ground turkey with 1/2 tablespoon of vegetable oil on a skillet for 4 mins (break the meat into small pieces and season with salt & black pepper)
  3. Add shallot, minced ginger, garlic, chopped thai basil and lemongrass into the skillet and cook for additional 4-5 mins until the meat and vegetables are cooked
  4. Place cooked meat and vegetable mixture into a serving bowl and mix with the dressing (see step 1)
  5. Serve with rice**, wedge of lime and mint/cilantro leaves

* Can find it in a frozen section of Asian food specialty stores

** Also can be served with coconut rice or spooned on Boston lettuce leaves